Mailerflow Start free
Blog › Email Marketing Platforms & Alternatives › Mailchimp

Mailchimp vs Klaviyo for Ecommerce: Data, Flows, Segmentation and Cost

Published November 2, 2026 · 10 min read

Illustration for Mailchimp vs Klaviyo for Ecommerce: Data, Flows, Segmentation and Cost

Klaviyo positions itself around ecommerce data and profiles, while Mailchimp is a broad marketing platform that also supports ecommerce. If your store's email program depends on triggering flows from browsing, cart and purchase behavior — and on attributing revenue back to the message — Klaviyo's free plan features (full customer context, revenue attribution) may fit better; verify event-level triggers on the official page. If you want one platform for email, popups, audience insights and a wider marketing toolkit, and you already use Mailchimp, staying is defensible. The rest of this article breaks down pricing, the editor, automation, segmentation, deliverability, integrations and support, with competitor facts verified on 2026-11-02 from each vendor's official pricing page.

Comparison table (verified on 2026-11-02)

All competitor facts below were checked on 2026-11-02 on Mailchimp's official pricing page (mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing) and Klaviyo's official pricing page (klaviyo.com/pricing). Plans and limits change; confirm current numbers on the official pages before you commit.

Mailchimp Klaviyo
Free plan Yes, a basic Free plan; you can cancel or downgrade to Essentials or Free at any time Yes, a free plan
Entry paid plan Standard, with a 14-day free trial Paid plans scale with profiles and sending — check the official page for current numbers
Free plan limits Not stated in the verified facts for this article — check the official page 250 profiles, 500 emails/month, $5 of mobile messages, $5 of Composer usage
How sending limits work Standard allows up to 6,000 emails per month Free plan caps sends at 500 emails/month; paid plans scale with profiles and sending
Ecommerce data model Standard includes actionable insights into audience growth and conversion funnels Free plan includes full customer context, a shared profile between service and marketing, and revenue attribution for campaigns
Flows / automation Standard includes enhanced automations Free plan includes AI and automation, plus scheduling recurring tasks
Segmentation Audience insights on Standard Basic customer segmentation on the free plan
AI features Generative AI features on Standard AI-powered subject line generator on the free plan
Editor Custom-coded email templates on Standard Drag-and-drop editor and basic email templates on the free plan
Forms Customizable popup forms on Standard Web forms on the free plan
Reporting Actionable insights on audience growth and conversion funnels Built-in reporting and dashboards, campaign metrics, engagement and click-through rates, real-time reporting
Support Personalized onboarding on Standard Email support for the first 60 days, plus Klaviyo Academy, Community, Help Center, getting started guides and product updates
Discounts 15% off the first 12 months for 10,000+ contacts, kept if you change to Premium or Essentials Not stated in the verified facts — check the official page
Best fit Broad marketing platform with email, popups and insights in one place Stores that run on ecommerce events and want revenue attribution

Pricing and plan limits: what actually drives the bill

Mailchimp and Klaviyo bill on different axes, and that difference matters more than the headline price.

On Mailchimp, the Standard plan is the ecommerce-relevant tier, and it comes with a 14-day free trial. You can cancel or downgrade to Essentials or the basic Free plan at any time. Standard allows sending up to 6,000 emails each month. Businesses with 10,000+ contacts can save 15% on their first 12 months, and that discount is kept if the customer changes to Premium or Essentials. Custom plans are available for managing more contacts.

On Klaviyo, the free plan covers 250 profiles, 500 emails per month, $5 of mobile messages and $5 of Composer usage. Paid plans scale with profiles and sending. The verified facts for this article do not include Klaviyo's paid plan prices, so treat any number you see elsewhere as unverified and check the official page.

A worked example (illustrative, not a quote)

Say your store has 8,000 subscribers. You send four campaigns a month and run two always-on flows — a welcome series and an abandoned cart.

  • Campaign volume: 8,000 × 4 = 32,000 sends per month.
  • Flow volume: use the formula welcome sends = new subscribers × entry rate; cart sends = sessions × trigger rate. Plug in your own rates — the numbers below are arbitrary placeholders to show the arithmetic, not benchmarks. If 4% of new subscribers enter the welcome series and 1.5% of sessions trigger a cart email, that adds 320 welcome sends and roughly 1,200 cart sends in this example.
  • Total: 32,000 + 320 + 1,200 = 33,520 sends per month in this illustrative scenario.

Against Mailchimp Standard's 6,000 emails per month, that volume is well above the stated allowance, so you would need a plan or arrangement that covers it. Against Klaviyo's profile-based model, the question becomes how many profiles you are billed for, not how many sends you make. Run the same arithmetic on your own numbers before comparing quotes.

If your list is large relative to your revenue and you send often, a platform that charges by contacts rather than by sends can change the math. Mailerflow includes unlimited emails on every paid plan, with a Free plan of 2,500 contacts and 10,000 emails a month and paid plans from $14.90/month.

Ecommerce data: what each platform knows about a customer

This is the core of the comparison. Klaviyo positions itself around ecommerce data and profiles. Even the free plan includes full customer context, a shared profile between service and marketing, revenue attribution for campaigns, and real-time reporting. Mailchimp's Standard plan includes actionable insights into audience growth and conversion funnels.

In practice, the question is whether you can trigger a flow from a specific product view, cart event or purchase — and whether revenue is attributed back to the message that caused it.

Take a store selling coffee subscriptions. A list-based segment can tell you who has not opened in 90 days. An event-based trigger can tell you that a specific customer viewed the Ethiopian single-origin page twice this week, added a grinder to the cart and did not check out. The first supports a win-back campaign. The second supports a cart-recovery flow that references the exact product. Klaviyo's free plan includes full customer context and revenue attribution; Mailchimp's Standard plan includes actionable insights into audience growth and conversion funnels. Confirm event-level browsing triggers on each vendor's official documentation before deciding.

Before choosing, write down the three triggers you actually need. If they are all list-based, Mailchimp is likely enough. If two of them are behavioral, the data model should drive the decision.

Automation and flows

Mailchimp Standard includes enhanced automations. Klaviyo's free plan includes AI and automation plus scheduling recurring tasks.

For an ecommerce store, the standard flow set is welcome, abandoned cart, post-purchase and win-back. What separates platforms is what happens inside them:

  • Can a trigger be an event, or only a list join?
  • Do you get branching and waits, so a non-opener takes a different path?
  • How painful is editing a live flow when you spot a broken link?
  • How many active automations does your plan allow?

Build the same three-step welcome flow in each platform's trial before you migrate anything: one trigger, one wait, one branch. Count the clicks and note where you had to leave the flow builder to finish the job. If you want to describe a flow in a sentence and get a draft to review, Mailerflow's AI automation builder does that — it drafts the trigger, waits, conditions and emails for you to check before activation, and the visual builder supports waits, conditions, webhooks and AI steps. That collapses the build to a single review pass instead of assembling each step by hand.

Segmentation and personalization

Klaviyo's free plan includes basic customer segmentation and full customer context. Mailchimp Standard includes popup forms and audience insights.

The practical test is whether you can build a segment like "opened nothing in 90 days but bought twice" or "viewed a product in the last 7 days and did not buy" without exporting data to a spreadsheet. If the answer is no, you will end up maintaining segments by hand, and they will go stale.

Personalization is the second half. Product recommendations, dynamic blocks and website-behavior data all depend on what the platform stores. Mailerflow's dynamic segments cover fields, tags, engagement, events and website behavior, and its AI segmentation can build a segment from a plain-language description — useful if you want behavior-based segments without assembling the rules yourself. Test the same three segment rules in each platform before you switch: a recency rule (no opens in 90 days), a value rule (two or more purchases), and a behavior rule (viewed a product in the last 7 days without buying). Note which ones you can build without leaving the segment builder.

Email editor, templates and AI assistance

Mailchimp Standard includes custom-coded email templates and generative AI features. Klaviyo's free plan includes a drag-and-drop editor, basic email templates and an AI-powered subject line generator.

What a store actually needs from an editor: product blocks that pull from your catalog, reusable templates so you are not rebuilding the same layout weekly, and dynamic content that changes per segment. Custom-coded templates are valuable if you have a designer or a strong brand system; drag-and-drop is faster if you do not.

If design time is the constraint, Mailerflow's AI email builder takes a description and returns a complete responsive design, subject lines and preview text, which you then edit in a visual block editor with reusable templates. Test it against your own brand assets: rebuild one of your existing campaign templates and check whether the product block pulls your catalog correctly and whether the layout can be saved and reused for the next send.

Deliverability and sending infrastructure

Mailchimp Standard's 6,000 emails per month is generous for a small list and tight for a store that sends frequently. Klaviyo's free plan caps sends at 500 emails per month, and paid plans scale with profiles and sending. Neither vendor's verified facts for this article state how bounces and complaints are handled, whether suppression is automatic, or whether dedicated sending domain setup and guided DKIM, SPF and DMARC configuration are included — check each official page for those specifics.

That monthly cap matters. If you send daily or near-daily, a monthly send limit is the first thing to model. Mailerflow, for comparison, uses own-domain sending with guided DKIM, SPF and DMARC setup and automatic verification, automatic suppression of bounces and complaints, reputation monitoring and warm-up limits, and unlimited emails on every paid plan.

Transactional email, API and integrations

Klaviyo's free plan lists mobile app marketing, ticket management and omnichannel support among its included features, alongside a shared profile between service and marketing. Mailchimp Standard includes popup forms and custom-coded templates. Whether either platform sends transactional email — order confirmations, shipping updates, password resets — is not covered by the verified facts for this article, so confirm it on the official pages rather than assuming it from the feature list. The same applies to integration counts and REST API details: check the official documentation for each vendor.

If your developers will be in the API, Mailerflow offers a transactional email API on a high-priority lane, a REST API with scoped keys and idempotency keys, an OpenAPI spec, code samples, a JS SDK, and signed real-time webhooks with retries and delivery logs. For a deeper look at how Mailchimp's API works, the developer getting-started guide is a useful companion to this comparison.

Support, data location and compliance

Klaviyo's free plan includes email support for the first 60 days, plus Klaviyo Academy courses, the Klaviyo Community, Help Center and documentation, getting started guides and tutorials, and product updates and release notes. Mailchimp Standard includes personalized onboarding.

For EU stores, confirm data residency, GDPR tools and DPA availability directly with each vendor. Mailerflow hosts data in Europe and provides GDPR tools covering export, erasure, consent logs and configurable retention — a comparison point if residency is on your checklist.

Which one to choose for Mailchimp users reviewing costs and alternatives

Choose Klaviyo if your store runs on ecommerce events, you want revenue attribution and flows tied to browsing and purchase behavior, and you are comfortable with profile-based pricing that grows with your list.

Choose Mailchimp if you want a broad marketing platform with a 14-day free trial of Standard, a 15% discount for 10,000+ contacts on the first 12 months, and you already rely on its forms, popups and audience insights.

If cost per send is your main concern, and you send frequently to a list that is large relative to your revenue, compare against a platform with unlimited emails on paid plans. Mailerflow is one option: paid plans include unlimited emails, and eligible paid plans come with free migration help covering contacts, suppression lists, templates and core automations. For a wider view of the market, see this breakdown of Mailchimp alternatives and how to choose.

FAQ

Is Klaviyo's free plan enough to start?

It covers 250 profiles, 500 emails per month, $5 of mobile messages and $5 of Composer usage, with built-in reporting, basic segmentation, web forms, a drag-and-drop editor and an AI subject line generator (verified 2026-11-02 on klaviyo.com/pricing). It is enough to test the data model, not enough to run a real store's program.

Does Mailchimp have a free plan?

Yes. You can cancel or downgrade to the Essentials or basic Free plans at any time, and Standard comes with a 14-day free trial (verified 2026-11-02 on mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing).

Can I migrate my Mailchimp contacts and automations to Klaviyo?

Both platforms support CSV import, and most vendors offer migration help. Check the official pages for current tools and eligibility. As an example of what to look for, Mailerflow offers free migration help covering contacts, suppression lists, templates and core automations on eligible paid plans, and its CSV import runs duplicate and validity checks with custom fields and tags.

How do I compare costs if my list grows?

Model your own monthly send volume first: contacts × campaigns, plus estimated flow sends. Then map that number onto each pricing model — contact-based, profile-based, or send-based. A platform that charges by contacts behaves very differently from one that caps monthly sends once your list passes a few thousand. If you want to see how the plans line up side by side, the Mailchimp vs Mailerflow pricing comparison walks through it.


Try Mailerflow on the Free plan (2,500 contacts, 10,000 emails a month, AI automation builder included), import your contacts by CSV, and ask about free migration help on eligible paid plans. See Mailerflow pricing.