EmailOctopus vs Brevo: Pricing Models, Automation and Transactional Email Compared
EmailOctopus vs Brevo comes down to shape, not just price: EmailOctopus is a focused email marketing tool with a low entry price and a free tier, while Brevo is a broader platform that bundles email, SMS and CRM behind a free-forever plan and a Starter tier that includes an AI content generator and MCP for ChatGPT & Claude. If your program is campaigns, a list and a landing page, EmailOctopus is usually the simpler fit. If you need SMS and marketing automation from the same platform, Brevo's plan structure is built for that. Everything below was checked on 2026-11-05 against each vendor's official pricing page — emailoctopus.com/pricing and brevo.com/pricing — so confirm current terms there before you buy.
Brevo vs EmailOctopus: the short answer
EmailOctopus wins on entry price and on how much you get for free at a small list size: 2,500 subscribers and 10,000 emails a month on the free Starter plan, and a Pro plan at $9/month billed yearly that adds unlimited users, unlimited landing pages and forms, full design control and reports kept forever. Brevo covers more channels per the verified facts: a free plan that is free forever with no credit card required, a Starter plan from 5,000 emails a month with a drag & drop editor, templates, an AI content generator, advanced segmentation, MCP for ChatGPT & Claude and support in 6 languages, and a Standard tier that adds marketing automation with unlimited multi-step workflows.
The rest of this article unpacks the three things that usually decide it — pricing models, automation, and transactional capability — and ends with a plain "choose X if…" verdict. If you are working through a shortlist rather than a single head-to-head, our EmailOctopus vs Mailerflow comparison covers the budget-focused version of the same decision.
For a wider view of the market, our ranking of the Best Email Marketing Platforms shows what each service really costs for your number of contacts.
Comparison table (verified on 2026-11-05)
Plan details below were checked on 2026-11-05 on emailoctopus.com/pricing and brevo.com/pricing; confirm current terms on those pages before you buy.
| Feature | EmailOctopus | Brevo |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Starter: 2,500 subscribers, 10,000 emails/month, EmailOctopus branding, 30-day reports, 1 landing page, 1 form, 1 user | Free forever, no credit card required; positioned for individuals and solopreneurs building an online presence |
| Entry paid plan | Pro: $9/month billed yearly, 10,000 emails/month | Starter: from 5,000 emails/month, positioned for single users starting with email and multi-channel marketing |
| How sending is counted | Emails per month (10,000 on Pro) | Emails per month (from 5,000 on Starter); SMS credit sold separately |
| Automation | Not covered by the verified pricing facts — check EmailOctopus's official pricing page and docs | Standard plan includes everything in Starter plus marketing automation, with unlimited automated multi-step workflows |
| Transactional email | Not covered by the verified pricing facts — check official docs | Not covered by the verified facts for either vendor — confirm transactional details on Brevo's official pages |
| AI features | Not listed in the verified pricing facts | Starter includes an AI content generator and MCP for ChatGPT & Claude |
| Users/seats | Free: 1 user. Pro: unlimited users | Starter positioned for single users; confirm seat limits on the pricing page |
| Yearly billing discount | 10% | 10% |
| Nonprofit discount | 20% lifetime discount | Not listed in the verified facts — check the official page |
| Custom plans | Available above 500,000 subscribers | Confirm on the official pricing page |
| Free trial | No free trial; free Starter plan instead | Free plan, no credit card required |
Pricing models: what you actually pay for
The structural difference is what each plan scales on. EmailOctopus prices around subscriber count with an email allowance attached: the free Starter plan gives you 2,500 subscribers and 10,000 emails a month, and Pro at $9/month billed yearly gives you 10,000 emails a month with full design control, reports kept forever, unlimited landing pages and forms, and unlimited users. Yearly billing saves 10%, nonprofits get a 20% lifetime discount, and custom plans exist for lists above 500,000 subscribers. There is no free trial — the free plan is the trial.
Brevo prices around sending volume and feature tier. The free plan is free forever and requires no credit card, aimed at individuals and solopreneurs. Starter starts from 5,000 emails a month and is aimed at single users beginning with email and multi-channel marketing. Standard adds marketing automation on top of everything in Starter. Yearly billing saves 10%, and SMS credit is sold separately, so multi-channel budgets need to account for that line item.
One question decides most of this: does the plan scale by subscriber count, by emails sent, or both — and what happens to your bill when one grows faster than the other?
Illustrative example: a 4,000-subscriber list sending four campaigns a month is roughly 16,000 emails a month. On EmailOctopus, that pattern needs a tier above the free plan's 10,000-email allowance, so check the current price for the tier that covers it. On Brevo, the same volume sits above the Starter entry point of 5,000 emails a month, so check the tier that covers 16,000. Neither number is a verdict — it is the arithmetic you should run against both official pricing pages before choosing.
If unlimited sending is the constraint you care about most, Mailerflow's pricing includes unlimited emails on every paid plan, a free plan with 2,500 contacts and 10,000 emails a month, and paid plans from $14.90/month — useful as a third reference point when you are modelling volume.
Email editor and templates
EmailOctopus Pro offers full control over email design, while the free Starter plan carries EmailOctopus branding on your emails. Brevo's Starter plan includes a drag & drop email editor, email templates and an AI content generator.
A concrete check before you pay: build one real campaign in EmailOctopus's free Starter tier and see whether the EmailOctopus branding and the design controls available there meet your standard, then compare that against Brevo's Starter drag & drop editor and template library on a trial campaign of the same email. If you would rather start from a description than a blank canvas, Mailerflow's AI email builder takes a prompt and returns a complete responsive design, subject lines and preview text — a different starting point, not a claim about either tool above.
Automation: where the plans diverge
This is often where budget decisions turn, because the tier that unlocks automation usually costs more than the headline entry price. Brevo's Standard plan includes everything in Starter plus marketing automation, and allows creating an unlimited number of automated, multi-step workflows. The verified facts confirm automation on the Standard plan; check Brevo's pricing page for what Starter includes.
EmailOctopus's verified pricing facts cover subscribers, email allowance, design control, reports, landing pages, forms and users — automation specifics are not in that verified set. Rather than guess, check EmailOctopus's official pricing page and docs for current automation limits on each plan.
Questions to ask before you pay, whichever platform you pick:
- How many active workflows does the plan allow, and what happens to running workflows if you downgrade?
- Which triggers are available — signup, tag added, date, event, inactivity?
- Are there per-contact send caps inside a workflow, so a loop cannot email someone five times in a day?
- Do workflow emails count against the same monthly email allowance as campaigns?
- Can you test a workflow on a segment before it goes live to the whole list?
If automation is central to your program, Mailerflow's features include visual automations with waits, conditions, webhooks and AI steps, with triggers on signups, events, dates, inactivity and website behavior — one more set of capabilities to weigh against the two platforms above.
Segmentation and personalization
Brevo's Starter plan includes advanced segmentation. EmailOctopus's verified pricing facts do not cover segmentation specifics, so check its official docs for how segments are built and what conditions are supported.
For a budget sender, segmentation can help you avoid paying to email people who will never open — run the numbers on cost per engaged contact, not cost per contact.
Deliverability and sending infrastructure
Neither vendor's verified pricing facts include deliverability specifics, so rather than invent them, here is a checklist you can apply to either platform:
- Shared or dedicated IP, and at what tier does that change?
- Is DKIM, SPF and DMARC setup guided, or do you configure DNS records yourself?
- How are hard bounces and spam complaints suppressed automatically?
- Is there reputation monitoring or warm-up limiting for a new sending domain?
- Where is your contact data hosted, and can you get that in writing?
For reference, Mailerflow's own approach is own-domain sending with guided DKIM, SPF and DMARC setup and automatic verification, automatic suppression of bounces and complaints, reputation monitoring and warm-up limits. Treat that as one data point, not a judgment on the other two.
Transactional email, API and integrations
Brevo's Starter plan is positioned for single users starting with email and multi-channel marketing and includes MCP for ChatGPT & Claude; SMS credit is sold separately. Transactional email and API details are not in the verified facts for either vendor. EmailOctopus's verified pricing facts do not include transactional email or API details — if transactional sending is a requirement, check EmailOctopus's official docs directly before committing.
Practical guidance: if you need order confirmations, password resets or receipts to go out from the same platform that runs your campaigns, verify transactional sending and API access first.
For context, Mailerflow offers a transactional email API on a high-priority lane with templates and variables, plus a REST API with scoped keys, idempotency keys, an OpenAPI spec, code samples and a JS SDK, and signed real-time webhooks with retries and delivery logs.
Support, data location and compliance
Brevo's Starter plan includes email support available in 6 languages. EmailOctopus's verified pricing facts do not specify support channels or data location — check its official site.
On compliance, the verified facts leave gaps on both sides, so ask each vendor directly: EmailOctopus's pricing page does not state data hosting location or GDPR processing terms, and Brevo's pricing page does not state retention or erasure procedures. Get the answers in writing — where data is hosted, GDPR data processing terms, consent logging, export and erasure procedures, and retention settings — before you sign. Mailerflow's own position: GDPR tools including data export, erasure, consent logs and configurable retention, with data hosted in Europe.
Which one to choose for budget-conscious senders
Choose EmailOctopus if: you want the lowest entry price for straightforward email marketing; a free tier at 2,500 subscribers and 10,000 emails a month is enough to start; unlimited users, unlimited landing pages and forms on Pro matter to your team; and you do not need SMS or multi-channel sending from the same tool. The 20% lifetime nonprofit discount is a real differentiator if it applies to you.
Choose Brevo if: you want email plus SMS and other channels in one place; you need marketing automation with unlimited multi-step workflows on the Standard plan; you want an AI content generator and MCP for ChatGPT & Claude in the Starter plan; or you want a free-forever plan with no credit card to test the platform before paying.
If neither fits cleanly — for example, you need unlimited emails on every paid plan, or you want help moving off your current tool — Mailerflow is worth a look. It includes CSV import with duplicate and validity checks, custom fields and tags, and free migration help (contacts, suppression lists, templates, core automations) on eligible paid plans. If you are still comparing budget options more broadly, our EmailOctopus vs Mailchimp breakdown and EmailOctopus vs Sender comparison cover two other shortlist candidates.
FAQ
Is EmailOctopus cheaper than Brevo?
Structurally, EmailOctopus Pro is $9/month billed yearly with 10,000 emails a month, while Brevo's free plan is free forever with no credit card required and Starter starts from 5,000 emails a month. Which is cheaper for you depends on your list size and monthly send volume, so check both pricing pages for the tier that matches your numbers.
Does EmailOctopus have a free trial?
No. As verified on 2026-11-05 on emailoctopus.com/pricing, EmailOctopus does not offer a free trial — it offers a free Starter plan instead, which is the practical way to evaluate it.
Does Brevo have a free plan?
Yes. Brevo's free plan is free forever and requires no credit card, and it is positioned for individuals and solopreneurs building an online presence.
Can I send transactional email with EmailOctopus?
Transactional email is not covered by EmailOctopus's verified pricing facts, so check its official documentation before assuming it is supported on your plan.
Which is better for automation?
Brevo's Standard plan includes marketing automation and allows unlimited automated multi-step workflows. EmailOctopus's automation limits are not in the verified pricing facts, so confirm them on its official pricing page.
Do both offer yearly discounts?
Yes — both EmailOctopus and Brevo list a 10% yearly billing discount.
Ready to run your own numbers? Try Mailerflow on the Free plan (2,500 contacts, 10,000 emails a month), import your contacts by CSV, and ask about free migration help on eligible paid plans. The AI automation builder lets you describe a workflow in a sentence and drafts it for review before activation.


